Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Studio Gear Hydrating CC Cream

Thursday, April 3, 2014


I received this product for testing through BrandBacker
My first experience with a Color Correcting cream years ago was memorable but not in a good way. I have a very sensitive skin, and the cream I tried made my face crimson (color correcting gone too far?). I returned it immediately.

I've been mostly using BB creams, and I find them pretty close to foundations - a bit too heavy, especially for Summer. So when an offer to try Studio Gear CC cream came along, I decided to give it a shot.

The cream promises "a fresh dose of color that adapts to your own skin tone creating the most natural looking coverage". It comes in three shades, "natural" worked well for my skin tone.

It is very lightweight, which I love, so if you're looking for something sheer it's perfect. The cream is also very hydrating; although I've been using it over my moisturizer, I think it may be applied alone on clean skin. It also works as a sun screen.

Bottom line, this CC cream is something I would recommend and buy, it's most perfect for warmer weather when you don't want to wear too much makeup, and if (when) you need a bit more coverage, use some foundation over it.

Studio Gear offers a 10% discount for my readers with code: bloggercc.

This is my first Studio Gear product and I want to try more. How about you, have you tried anything from this brand, any recommendations?

***

Моё первое знакомство с кремом для коррекции цвета кожи было запоминающимся, но далеко не радостным. У меня чувствительная кожа и почти сразу же после использования крема, я побагровела. Я вернула его в магазин на следующий же день.

До недавнего времени я почти постоянно пользовалась ВВ кремами, но они мне всегда казались слишком плотными, совсем как тональный крем. Я многие перепробовала и на лето мне хотелось чего-то более легкого.

Поэтому, когда я увидела предложение на тестирование увлажняющего CC крема Studio Gear, мне это показалось хорошей возможностью изменить свой первый неудачный опыт.

Крем обещает свежий и естественный цвет, индивидуально адаптирующийся к оттенкам кожи. Предложенная палитра состоит из трёх оттенков, мне подошел "natural".

Крем очень легко наносится на кожу, поры не забивает, получается такое тонкое и шелковистое покрытие. Хотя я его использовала поверх своего увлажняющего крема, думаю, он справится с увлажнением самостоятельно, особенно в жаркую погоду.

Если нужно более плотное покрытие, то поверх корректирующего цвет крема можно нанести тональное средство.

В итоге, я им довольна и рекомендую его как корректирующее средство с легким, естественным покрытием.

Если вы живете или у вас есть знакомые в США и вас заинтересовала эта марка, сайт Studio Gear предлагает 10% скидку со словом-кодом bloggercc.

Что вы думаете о СС кремах?

Carven Le Parfum

Sunday, December 1, 2013

Carven Le Parfum

Carven Le Parfum makes me thirsty; thirsty for a juicy orange beverage. This scent is a fruity and sweet olfactory experience for me. 

Apricot, mandarin flower and sweet pea create an invigorating and fresh citrus-y scent, while florals add a touch of femininity. I wasn’t immediately impressed by this perfume. But I appreciate its quality, and “friendliness”. I find it very wearable, and unlike other similar white florals (Ellie Saab Le Parfum), it doesn’t give me a headache.

Carven Le Parfum is an approachable, youthful, sparkly and unfussy scent. A bit overpriced for what it is ($84 for 1.66 OZ), since it doesn't last long on my skin.

I would categorize it as a spring fresh and a girly scent. I will definitely come back to it when nature awakens, and when everything looks more optimistic again.  
***
Carven Le Parfum наполнен бодрящим и сочным ароматом фруктов. Он вызывает ощущение жажды каждый раз, когда я его вдыхаю – сразу хочется выпить свежевыжетого апельсинового сока.

Подобные ощущения дарят ноты абрикоса, цветка мандарина и сладкого горошка. Добавьте туда немножко белых цветов и парфюм превратится в добротный и очень женственный аромат.

На мне, к сожалению, он держится недолго, что не оправдывает его немного завышенной цены ($84 за 50 мл).

Это очень носибельный, негромкий, дерзкий и свежий парфюм. Его время, по-моему, весна-лето.

I need a "Visa"!

Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Visa Robert Piguet perfume
As much as I love Britney's Fantasy and Katie's Purr, I admit, they are fairy tale perfumes, and not for grown-up girls.

Visa by Robert Piguet is my ticket to the magic world of sweetness! :-) It's sweet, but in a mega-classic-Hollywood-star kind of way.

This perfume was originally created in 1945 by Germaine Cellier and was later reformulated by Aurelien Guichard, a perfumer who is also the creator of my favorites, Love in Paris by Nina Ricci and Angel Aqua Chic by Thierry Mugler .

Visa is sweet, then fruity, then sweet again, a bit floral, and, finally, it lingers on the skin with a leathery dry down. Have you ever smelled your leather watch band after it soaks in your favorite perfume? That's what it smells like!

The perfume is especially good for winter, it creates a warm blanket around its wearer.

Try Visa, it never expires!


Я любитель сладко-конфетных запахов. Мои любимые, например, Fantasy от Бритни Спирс и Purr от Кети Перри.

Подобная фруктово-ягодно-шоколадная страна просто сказка, в которую взрослой тёте, на вроде меня, лучше всего путешествовать с Визой.

Виза была создана в 1945, потом видоизменена в 2007 парфюмером, детищами которого были мои любимые парфюмы Love in Paris от Nina Ricci и Angel Aqua Chic, Thierry Mugler.

Виза - сладкий, фруктово-цветочный эликсир, который постепенно высыхает на мне с запахом сладкой кожи. Знаете, когда кожаный ремешок часов пропитывается любимым парфюмом? Виза даёт подобный запах через несколько часов носки.

Если вам нравятся сладкие ароматы, как и мне, попробуйте Визу. Она особенно хороша на осень-зиму, окутывает сладким и теплым облаком!

Modern Muse & Downtown| Perfume review

Thursday, September 5, 2013

Estee Lauder Modern Muse

Well, the title of this post could have been Great Expectations....Yes, I have been looking forward to both fragrances this fall - Modern Muse by Estee Lauder and Downtown by CK.

I'll start with the one that failed my expectations the least. Estee Lauder's Modern Muse has notes of mandarin, tuberose, lily, honeysuckle, dewy petals, jasmine, patchouli, vanilla, amber wood and musk.

Judging by the notes, Estee Lauder wasn't taking any risks. Thus, I can see anyone wear it or like it, but it's not going to become iconic. It's very safe...

This perfume is for a young woman who is ready to transition from VS perfumes to something more sophisticated...grown up but not old :-)

Oh, and it lasts forever! My prediction - people are going to buy it for gifts a lot!

***
Downtown by Calvin Klein's spokes model is Rooney Mara. When I think of Rooney Mara, I think of cool, edgy, unexpected, dark, borderline masculine. This perfume is nothing of the kind.

Downtown targets youth - citrus, white florals, woody notes and musk. This fragrance fades fast, and so do the memories of it. Major fail for me.

Have you tried any of these yet? What do you think?

Calvin Klein Downtown perfume

Я возлагала большие надежды на две парфюмерные новинки этой осени Modern Muse от Estee Lauder и  Downtown от CK. Начну с Музы, т.к. она меня меньше всего разочаровала.

В ноты этого парфюма входят мандарин, тубероза, лилия, жимолость, влажные лепестки, пачули, ваниль, амбра, древесные ноты и мускус.

В общем-то, подобные ингредиенты - беспроигрышный денежный вариант для компании.

Носить его будут многие, его будут скупать в подарки. Но, добавит ли он в ваш парфюмерный гардероб изюминку? Навряд ли.

***
Сейчас о моём большом разочаровании... Downtown, лицом которого стала Мара Руни. Я представляла, запах ярким, на грани с мужским, лаконичным, как и стиль этой актисы, и стойким.

Запах оказался никаким. Его так легко забыть! Так же легко он и пропал с моей кожи, не оставив следа.

Акцент был сделан на молодых девушек, поэтому к бело-цветочному набору подбросили цитрусов и фруктов. Я - пас.

А вы пробовали какой-нибудь из этих новинок? Что думаете?

Style Gone Zombie: "World War Z" by Max Brooks

Thursday, June 13, 2013

via

First of all, I am pretty obsessed with Zombie and apocalyptic genres, whether it's books, TV shows, or movies. I don't know how I managed to miss Max Brook's "World War Z" since it came out a few years ago! But I have read it now.

I liked it right from the start - it was smart, it answered many questions; in other words, it was much more intelligent than I anticipated. By all means, it's not perfect. There were moments that made me roll my eyes but the overall impression was good.

"World War Z" is a collection of different stories given in the form of an interview. The stories go in chronological order - from the beginning to the end of the war in different parts of the world.

To my surprise, this wasn't a book about zombies per se, but it was a book about humanity.

What I liked about "World War Z" is that it made me think about human nature; our ability or inability to deal with challenges. Most importantly, about rediscovery.

It's not easy to survive but it's even harder to adopt to a new way of life, to acquire new skills and to forget who you were before the war.

If you like this genre I recommend this book. It's clever!
 
The movie comes out on the 21-st of June. I am curious to find out how they adopted the book, with so many different stories all over the world, and without a protagonist!

What about you, have you read the book? Are you going to see the movie?

via
Будучи поклонницей Зомби и апокалипсис жанров, не знаю, как я пропустила книгу Макса Брукс "Мировая Война Z", когда её издали первый раз.

От друга я услышала, что-то о том, что в кгине был упомянут русский журнал "Семнадцать" и о незаконном использовании американского названия. Это привлекло моё внимание и я её купила.

Книга мне показалась очень увлекательной с первых страниц. Я ожидала чего-то более или менее примитивного, всё-таки про Зомби же книга, но автор явно знает и о всемирной истории, и о Зомби! :-)
Хотя некоторые моменты, конечно же, меня утомили своей стереотипностью и техничностью.

Повествование идёт как дневник-интервью очевидцев и участников войны со всего мира.

Удивительно, что книга совсем и не про Зомби, а скорее всего про человечество. Про борьбу, победу и выживание в новом мире, где всё перевернулось с ног на голову.

Книга о том, как заново перестроить свою жизнь и адаптироваться, освоить новое ремесло и просто обрести веру в будущее.

Одноимённый фильм выходит в местный прокат 21-го июня и мне уже не терпится его увидеть. Очень интересно, как книга будет адаптирована.

А Вы читали, собираетесь смотреть фильм?

(untitled) Maison Martin Margiela perfume: my review

Tuesday, May 7, 2013


I have been eager to post a perfume review lately. But, to be frank, I felt uninspired after a couple of trips to Ulta and Sephora.

But during my trip to Toronto I found one I really liked.

Everything is good about (untitled) - from its name to the end note.

It comes in Eau de Toilette and Eau de Parfum versions. They are both fine.

However, I liked Eau de Parfum better. I found it less harsh in the beginning.

It's green and fresh. But it is not at all girly. It becomes drier, dirtier - more masculine on the skin.

It has good silage but it will never overpower you.

This perfume is for every day - work, walk, first date, an interview, a wedding, etc.

From the ones I own, it reminds me most of Prada's Infusion d'Iris.

I would have bought it if I weren't so broke ;-) Try it!

***
Мне уже давно хотелось написать о какой-нибудь парфюмерной новинке, но, к сожалению, ни одни из массовых парфюмов меня не вдохновил.

А, чтобы попробовать нишевые, нужно ехать несколько километров до хорошего магазина. Поэтому в Торонто я решила воспользоваться возможностью и разнюхать несколько парфюмов.

Самым запоминающимся был (untitled). Он продаётся в форме парфюмированной и туалетной воды. Оба варианта похожи и стойкие. Парфюм мне понравился больше, т.к. туалетная вода показалась немного резкой вначале.

(untitled) - нежный зелёный и свежий. Но в тоже время он сухой и жестковатый на коже - унисекс.

Шлейфит не очень сильно, но можно почувствовать на расстоянии метров 2.

Он подойдёт на каждый день и любой повод. Из тех, что имеются у меня, он больше похож на Прада Ирис.

Вы не пробовали?



It smells like Spring

Tuesday, April 9, 2013


Switching my skincare routine for Spring, I also choose a different kind of fragrance.

This time of year, I like green and invigorating scents such as Trish McEvoy #6 Mandarin & Ginger Lily. I reapply it every three to four hours.

Its twin is Green Tea by Elisabeth Arden, they are almost identical! Green Tea is less citrusy and much more affordable. Unfortunately, it lasts for just few minutes on me.

Another favorite is Calyx by Prescriptives - so fresh! Its lasting power is moderate.


Переходя на весеннюю косметику я также меняю свой парфюм.

В это время года и летом я выбираю зелёные и бодрящие ароматы, например Trish McEvoy #6 Mandarin & Ginger Lily. Мне его приходится обновлять каждые 3-4 часа.

Очень похожий на Триш, но намного доступный - Зелёный чай от Элизабет Арден. К сожалению, очень нестойкий.

И, немного послаще, моё прошлогоднее открытие - Calyx by Prescriptives. Очень красивый аромат. Стойкость средняя.

Recent purchases from Sephora: what stays and what goes

Monday, April 1, 2013

1. Caudalie Divine Oil - stays! I will buy a larger bottle.
It has a nice calming smell and it's multifunctional. However, if you do not like a fragrance in your products, you may be sensitive to its smell - it is on the stronger side./ Я большая поклонница масел. И это мне очень понравилось, я обязательно куплю баночку побольше! Пахнет оно чудесно, но довольно сильно. Сначала советую его попробовать.

2. Eyeko liner and mascara - goes! First, the mascara. I wore it just about four hours and it crumbled around my eyes.
The eyeliner is supposed to be fool proof. It's not. It was way too dry and didn't paint well. I recommend Maybelline's Master Precise - that is perfect!/ Тушь осыпается через несколько часов носки, карандаш сухой и плохо рисует. Я советую Master Precise от Мейбеллин - на много лучше! Сдаю это добро обратно в Сефору.

3. OCC Lip Tars in Electric Grandma and Anime - stay! I like the colors, the feel on the lips and long wearability. I will buy more./ Обожаю! Их палитра очень богатая, их легко смешивать, долго держатся на губах - советую попробовать! Напоминают краски из детства :-)

4. Color Reveal lip balm - nothing special, just for fun but I'll keep it./ Проявляющаяся гигиеническая помада - ничего особенного, но пригодится.
I finally decided to let my nails go au naturale!/Наконец, мой маникюр а натюрель!
Happy April fools!/С первым апреля!



Affordable Fashion Blog from Chicago